Mill Curve

• RMweb Premium

Mill Curve is another example of the frequently-modelled but rarely-seen feature of a 180 degree curve in open countryside. It is an oval of track, much in the vein of Steve's Roundy Test Track and it is intended to provide a place to test engines and watch the trains go by.

The layout started as an oval of Kato Unitrack which I bought to make somewhere to try a couple of new N gauge mechanisms. A member of the local model railway club gave me two sheets of 5mm foam board and so it has become the beginnings of a layout. The idea is to make something suitable to run any 9 mm gauge locomotive, be it N gauge, HOe or Sn2, at least in privacy of my own home

The centre piece will be the Bachmann watermill, this is nominally 00 but it will look ok with HO stock and it is still visually just about tolerable with Sn2. The loading gauge for the layout will be big enough for 0n9. It is my first attempt at a square model and my first layout with a foam board baseboard.

post-14389-0-74168200-1408472758.jpg

The baseboard is from two A1 size sheets of foam board. Metric sheet sizes have the proportions of 1:√2 so the full length of one sheet makes a diagonal to brace a square cut to the width of the other sheet. Bet that's jogged your memory of school maths! The baseboard has eight parts: a surface, four edge pieces, two diagonal braces and a backscene. Each edge piece is made from two strips of foam board glued one on top of the other.