New modeller question: US on UK N gauge track?

hornbyplayer

Hi all.  Please forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong area but I am new to railway modelling.  I originally purchased a Hornby 00 starter set, but then, to cut a long story short, realised n gauge would work better for me.  I obtained a Graham Farish n gauge starter set with peco track.  I'm looking at a Bachmann US set with the "e-z track" system.   Can this track be used with UK peco track, and will the US n gauge locos run on 9mm UK peco track?  I understand the difference in scales, but was just wondering about compatibility of the US vs UK n gauge systems?   I have googled, but didn't get the answer!   I would really like to build a US railroad without the expense of having to buy more of the the "e-z track" or similar system.   Thanks.    :sungum:

• RMweb Gold

You'll be fine with UK N scale track. Almost everything ought to run through Peco Code 80 track, and I've yet to run into anything that won't cope with the finer profile of Code 55. You'll also be fine using Kato's ready-ballasted track sections if you go down that route.

I'm not familiar with the E-Z track but generally speaking, you can join different makes of track together provided you pack the different sleeper heights as required.

You'll be fine with UK N scale track. Almost everything ought to run through Peco Code 80 track, and I've yet to run into anything that won't cope with the finer profile of Code 55. You'll also be fine using Kato's ready-ballasted track sections if you go down that route.

I'm not familiar with the E-Z track but generally speaking, you can join different makes of track together provided you pack the different sleeper heights as required.

Brilliant. Just what I wanted to know.  Yes, I have also been looking at the Kato track and figured to adjust for sleeper height if the track was compatible.   Right, I'm off to start my American adventure!...    :imsohappy: