Block Post Signalling Simulation

jonny777

Does anyone have any experience of using this company's computer software?

I have downloaded the restricted test version of Yapton Crossing, which is said to be for beginners, but I still struggle to discover which order I have to do things in for a successful train route.

I understand that the signals are interlocked with the gates and the turnout settings, but there seems to be a need to get a train accepted by the following box before certain levers can be pulled. However, I appear to be sending the wrong bell codes, or the right bell codes but not in the correct format.

As you may have already guessed, I am a total novice when it comes to manual signalling; but I would love to learn to master it as I always wanted to be a signalman when I was at primary school - but my parents had far more lofty ideas for my career.

• RMweb Gold

Looks fairly straightforward to me judging by what little is visible on their web page but I can't access it at all (I'm not on Windows) so what I would suggest is -

1. Study the instructions and make sure you know how to do the various things like work the block bells and blocks as well as the levers and level crossing gates

2. Study the instructions to see what information they give regarding bell codes - write yourself an aide-memoire if it would help with them.

3. Study the process -

3a.  'box in rear Calls Attention and then when it has been acknowledged offers a train, repeat codes and place block to Line Clear.

3b   'box in rear sends Train Entering Section (TES) which you acknowledge, turn block to 'Train On LIne',  close crossing gates, offer train to 'box in advance (Call Attention, acknowledged by next, 'box, then send 'Is Line Clear?', watch block go to Line Clear, then clear signals for train.