DCC failures

djrspurs

I have been running DCC for several years and feel for every step forward I take a step back.i run the Prodigy Advance and have 50 logos either Factory fitted or ones I have converted to DCC. A gifted amateur! I have had to rebuild my layout due to moving countries and am about 90% complete. (Mainly scenery left o complete). A typical issue. Today I thought I would run my Hornby Class 31 with factory fitted DCC sound. dead as a dodo ( it has runs since the rebuild). I placed it on the programming track and either reads nothing or it reads 0000. I try the factory reset but that doesn't work. Is there any "generic" reasons why decoders just stop working?

I have been running DCC for several years and feel for every step forward I take a step back.i run the Prodigy Advance and have 50 logos either Factory fitted or ones I have converted to DCC. A gifted amateur! I have had to rebuild my layout due to moving countries and am about 90% complete. (Mainly scenery left o complete). A typical issue. Today I thought I would run my Hornby Class 31 with factory fitted DCC sound. dead as a dodo ( it has runs since the rebuild). I placed it on the programming track and either reads nothing or it reads 0000. I try the factory reset but that doesn't work. Is there any "generic" reasons why decoders just stop working?

My apologies for the numerous typos!

In the past, I have found that decoders stored at 'high temperatures' might lose their user-programmed values (I've also experienced this, in th epast, on broadcast elctronics equipment! - when shippe dgoods were left in un-airconditioned warehousing during relocation). Howevr, you mention having run this since moving.

It is not necessary to be able to read-back a decoder: in fact, I find this slows down the procedure considerably!