Bing Table Railway

Skinnylinny

So by sheer good fortune (mainly due to the seller having no idea what it is!), I appear to have won a Bing Table Railway loco for £6 on eBay. As I understand it, this system was about the first model railway system commercially produced at what is now recognised as 00 scale, using 16mm gauge track (well, 5/8") and a scale of approx. 4mm:1 foot. The locos (2-4-0 tank and tender locos) were available in clockwork or 3-rail electric, running on 6V.

I have no experience with this particular brand, but as an electronic engineer by trade, I have strong hopes of being able to restore the loco to running condition, but am wondering if the (very coarse!) wheels would run on Dublo tinplate track, and if anyone has any knowledge and/or experience with these models. I would like to ideally have it running on a length of straight track on a shelf as a curiosity, as I suspect the wheels are unlikely to be compatible with modern Peco pointwork!

Edited by Skinnylinny
  • Like 1

Bing Table Railway locos and rolling stock will run on plain H/D 3rail track,but not through points or crossings. It will run very happily on Trix Twin bakerlite track and points,as the design engineer at Bing who designed the Table Railway system went on to design the original Trix Twin,so the wheel  and track standards and track geometry are the same for all practical purposes,although,if running Table Railway items on a Trix Twin layout,you cannot run 2 trains on the same track.

Cheers, Mark

Thanks, Mark. That would certainly be much easier to obtain than original Bing 3-rail track, and knowing that the wheel standards are similar is very useful. I assume from your comments that both wheels of the Bing stock are electrically connected, where on the Trix Twin system only one wheelset was used per train (return being via the centre rail)?

• RMweb Gold