Dapol RTR PO Wagon - Upgrade

brossard

I still consider myself new to 7mm although I've been doing it for a few months.  My experience and knowledge is growing rapidly.

I think of myself as in "exploratory: mode so, while I have several kits in the queue, and built a couple, I was curious to see what Dapol's RTR PO wagons are like.  I got myself this:

P1010008-002.JPG.c1949b7c743aab048eda12b0a46e8f49.JPG

My first glance was very favourable.  Above the solebars, it does look the part and if some of the strapping detail isn't correct, I can't tell.  Below the solebars is a different story.  The first thing I noticed was that the brakes are miles away from the wheels.  I then noticed that there was ridiculous side to side slop on the wheels.  Finally, the brake handle guide should be more of a loop than a flat.  This won't do at all. 

I resorted to a source that I have used a lot in 4mm work, Bill Bedford etches from Eileens Emporium:

P1010008-001.JPG.d5f47f52300b615f06e62010fe404081.JPG

I got the sprung 1923 RCH W irons (I'm trying to standardize on all sprung wagons) and the 9' brake gear.

Next job was to strip the old parts from the wagon.  Flippin' 'eck the glue used is bombproof!  I ended up using a cutting wheel to remove material around the mouldings sufficient to be able to prise it out.  What a job!  I finally got the body clear of detritus:

P1010007-001.JPG.12bddc8c69da09d95f029a31968667fd.JPG

A right old mess it made.  The bearings used in this model are simple lengths of brass tube.

P1010007-002.JPG.45a485079a46c9547d738f69db042c94.JPG

Next I made up the W irons and packed the floor 0.060" to raise (lower?) the W irons to the right height.  I happen to have a Slaters BR Std van which has provision for clasp brakes and Morton.  I nicked the W irons from the Morton fret and chopped those up to get springs and axle boxes.

I also noticed that the Dapol axles are 2mm shorter than Slaters.

A lot of kerfuffle and toing and froing gave me this: