ECoS and latest TTS decoders

PeterMC

Hi , Is anyone else having problems with their ECoS controller and the latest Hornby TTS loco's. I have found recently with both a new Class 31 TTS and the Merchant Navy TTS that they will only respond to the ECoS when facing in one direction only. Change their facing Direction either manually or via a turntable or even a reversing loop and both of theses locos become unresponsive to the ECoS control. All ealier TTS locos of which I have quite a few work fine.

Anyone?

There have been other problems with previous TTS decoders (class 67) on the programming track, but I haven't heard of this one.

It sounds like the ECoS may be putting out a non-symmetrical waveform on the track, the decoder only samples the signal from one rail and this batch of decoders are not tolerant.

I know which one I would put my money on being compliant with the NMRA specs :)

Is this TTS going to work with just one plug? I'm rather new to all this.

I am not sure I fully understand your question if at all,

Edit: - or are you talking about the name Twin Track Sound. If so all it means is the decoder has one output channel (track) for playing basic speed dependant chuffing/engine noise and another channel for the user to play spot sounds like horn, whistle, brakes, etc.

Rob

Edited by RAFHAAA96

Hi

I have replied to this question on another forum with the text below. It may? help resolve the running issues if tested. IMO worth a trial anyway.

Assuming the system is locked to 128 speed steps (This is important with TTS decoders!) It now reads that the problem loco(s) are seeing DC and acting as though DC is their source.  Hence only operating in one direction.