Barnstaple Junction-ish 1970's - and on to Bideford!

jamest

• RMweb Gold

Hi all,

I've started work on a new layout based on Barnstaple Junction in the seventies, here is the link to the planning thread:

planning thread

I've recently sold my 6x4 layout (actually called 6x4 starter layout), which was my first and used as a testing ground to move forward. After visiting several exhibitions I decided my next project would be 'end to end' and thin to better fir in with the space I have to work/play in.

The original plan was not necessarily going to be based on Barnstaple but because I couldn't really decide on a fictional plan I liked the secure feeling copying something 'real' gave me. I'm no expert on the real railway but I feel I am learning as I go - at least with a track plan based in the real world I can learn about the actual movements as I go safe in the knowledge the foundation is good. And I only live about 6 miles from the actual place!

Thanks to everyone who helped on the planning thread with advice and sources of information:

post-7097-0-68340400-1303723538_thumb.jpg

The layout was to be 12'x18" including the fiddle yard but ,as you will see from the planning thread, this has expanded somewhat and I have widened the station board to 24" in places along with 4' in length for the fiddle yard. The track will be code 100 and the points medium radius (one long) peco streamline. The goods facilities are more limited than the original yard and the curve on the station has had to be straightened a little. I plan to run around in the station 'off-scene' using a short sector plate which will save me modeling the actual, long run around under the road bridge towards Bideford.

I've constructed the scenic boards and four trestles and this weekend I've actually started track laying in anger. Here are the pictures that finished my planning thread:

post-7097-0-66783000-1303723094_thumb.jpg

post-7097-0-17807800-1303723096_thumb.jpg