Function menu

MOH

Hi,

Took my first leap into DCC sound by purchasing a pre-owned Bachmann class 45 from Rails of Sheffield, unfortunately no list of function capabilities wasn't included so I am hoping some kind soul out there might be able to supply a copy that I can download, as far as I know the sound decoder is of the factory fitted type.

Also, as a complete novice in sound decoders, are there any extra functions on my NCE Power Pro controller?

Is there any other advice I should have?

I know there are far better types of sound decoders but I just wanted a reasonably decent version to start with and if I want to I can consider upgrading later on.

Many thanks.

Something I found useful on PowerCab/PowerPro was to re-program the options button. By default, it sets speed to zero, which I did not find very useful.

I believe this is set in one of the cab parameters. Setting the value to 122 makes the options key a little like a shift, so functions 0-9 then access 10-19 & 20-28. Many sound projects use functions well into the 20s.

It is somewhere in the manual but I believed it has moved around a little as they updated it.

The manual may seem a little daunting, but if it was any simpler, it would not tell you enough.

Thanks Pete for your very swift reply and recognising that I haven't much idea on al of this, I have just had a little test run of the loco and it seems to be performing well, I have rechecked with Rails just now and they confirm the decoder is ESU Loksound version 3 or 31/2?

If anyone can post a functions list that would bea real help.

Many thanks

Knowing the model number might help confirm whether the model was factory fitted with sound or subsequently fitted with sound as an after market product.  I think all of the factory fitted models have codes ending SD - eg XX-XXX SD.

Bachmann have instructions for a number of their models online at:

https://Bachmann-spares.co.uk/page/instructions