Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance Handset Problem

Jamiel

Hi

I have a Gaugemaster Prodigy Advance which I have not used for 14 months. I have set the layout up again, and most things are working very well.

One thing that is not is the speed potentiometer (pot) (speed control knob, that turns). I can spin it around, and sometimes there is no response, other times it jumps up or down in speed by 10 numbers.

The layout is in a dry, but unheated shed, and the controller has been stored there while I have been re-assembling the layout and insulating it.

My suspicion is that damp may have got into the pot, so I have brought the handset into the house to sit above a radiator.

I will update the thread when I try it again after being kept in the warm.

I suspect that most people haven't left a controller unused for 14 months, but I would be interested to know if anyone else has experienced a similar problem.

Jamie

This can happen even when the unit has not been stored, our club unit knob stopped working after 6 months use, but as most of us use the buttons for finer control we have not sent it back to Guagemaster. They will replace the pot as that is certainly faulty free of charge usually as the controllers have a lifetime guarantee.

regards

mike g

Thanks Mike.

Good to know it has happened to others.

I will give them a call this week.

Just get the layout set up, and then have to send back the controller. Still I could go DC with one loco on there, which is better than having a faulty handset.

Jamie

This can happen even when the unit has not been stored,..... They will replace the pot as that is certainly faulty free of charge usually as the controllers have a lifetime guarantee.

Gaugemaster are good at repairing and supporting products carrying their name.    BUT, the DCC products do not have a lifetime guarantee - the entry DCC01 system is 1 year (in the manual), and I think that applies to other Prodigy systems.