Andy's Plop Shop

Hello There!

As the summer's here I've decided to have a go with some loco's downstairs, painting,decals,weathering and other fun.

I'm a total novice having just sprayed three vehicles at the end of last year. I was down-hearted with the results and shelved the projects, the main problems were using a too dark primer for the yellow warning panels, bad masking and filled in detail...yep, everything!

Well, I've T-cutted the 'Railmatch' green on these and I'm pleased with the glossy finish and just maybe, once they're weathered, the yellow won't look so bad.

The main idea for me is to acheive subtly weathered loco's but with glossy work-worn paint showing underneath as I don't really like the satin and matt finish paintwork on rtr models. Also I want the models to look like they are built from metal and have seen some use; no mean feat!

The Gloucester 100 twin has aluminuium shells and the paint polishes up quite nice

DSCF6454.jpg

I'm not looking forward to putting lining on it. I can't even source any straw lining decals at the moment. Any ideas?

The Lima Class 27 is an experiment to try to re-create bodyside rippling where the loco's ribs are showing through the outer skin. The approximate location of the subframe was marked on in pencil and then scratched away at either side with a craft knife and other areas were sanded down too.

DSCF6442.jpg

DSCF6458.jpg

The idea is for sunset style photo's.

I plan to use HMRS methsfix decals on the 27 and pressfix HMRS white lining but I don't like the idea of using varnish as my dodgy airbrushing has filled in details already.

Would it be OK to weather using emulsions and water colours followed by a Matt Acrylic varnish? I'm thinking of this method followed by T-cutting it back for the areas that I still want a shine on.

Any help or comments would be appreciated

Thanks

Andy

Guest Max Stafford