C&L 'turnout-in-a-bag' kits in 7mm scale (O gauge)

David Siddall

Part 1: In which I discover just how little I know about turnouts and turnout construction!

For reasons which still confound me I've been asked to put together a digest of the turnout construction experiences which form a part of my rambling 'First tentative steps' thread in the '7mm+ modelling' section of RMWeb. If you do read on please understand that that which follows really is nothing more than the (slightly tongue-in-cheek) record of the thoughts and experiences of a complete beginner, from starting out to the point at which, (sorry... the pun is almost impossible to avoid) I'd actually built a couple of turnouts. One thing it absolutely is not is an attempt to encourage anyone do anything the way that I've done it. Neither is it an endorsement of any particular product or an indictment of any other. Hopefully though what follows might just add a little anecdotal information to a topic covered in far greater depth by some far more experienced and capable modellers than me.

For a kick-off, my conversion to 7mm scale (O gauge) is something that only happened recently. I've constructed numerous layouts in both 2mm and 4mm scale over the years, some small, some spacious (probably about half of them finished!) and some with which I've even been quite pleased. The common factor to all of them however was that they featured ready-to-lay track. Of course, I've always been aware of '7-mil' and hand-built track and I've frequently been inspired by some of the magnificent models produced in the 'senior' scale – but I've never felt sufficiently motivated to make the transition until recently.