Layout Advice Please - N Guage or OO? 12ft X 4ft Size

Delorean1984

Hey everyone. I've decided to make a layout as my young daughter is really into trains and it would be something we would both enjoy. I'm a complete newbie and novice to this hobby so go easy on me ;-).

The space I have to work with would be s baseboard size of 12ft X 4ft. I'm thinking of going for N guage as I can get more on a board that size than say OO guage. I also don't mind going OO guage but not sure if it would be bit cramped on a board this size?

Anyone care to share a photo of their layouts that are similar in size to mine, both you OO and N Guage layouts in order for me to get an idea of how it would look and of course some inspiration.

Theme wise I'm thinking of a 90s or modern urban theme although I've been told urban theme in N Guage would take me forever although not too phased by that as it would be fairly long term project. Only other thing I thought of is urban/rural mix might work.

Also is sketching down rough layout on paper a good way to get layout ideas?

• RMweb Gold

Hi,

Would it be against a wall? If so 4ft is too wide to reach across. If not, and you've got access all around, then reach is not a problem but something that size would be basically unmovable, in the middle of the room, once built - unless you build it in sections.

You can do a good OO layout in that size, people have done them in much smaller spaces!

Sketching is OK for basic ideas but layout designs live and die by the tightness of the track curves! So you probably need to draw it to scale eventually, either on paper or in the computer.

Edited by Harlequin

2 hours ago, Harlequin said:

Hi,

Would it be against a wall? If so 4ft is too wide to reach across. If not, and you've got access all around, then reach is not a problem but something that size would be basically unmovable, in the middle of the room, once built - unless you build it in sections.