Motorising Kitmaster 08

lj95

I recently found an old Kitmaster class 08 diesel kit which had been in my 'to do' pile for several years. I was hoping to be able to motorise it with an old lima chassis. I have been browsing ebay for several months, but nothing has turned up at a reasonable price. Does anyone know of an alternative way to motorise it? Also, I live in Ireland, so the chassis will have to be available through mail-order. Thanks in advance.

Look out on eBay for either the Bachmann or new-generation Hornby "08" chassis. They do come up now and then as working spares.

If you fancy a go at trying to build a chassis, then eBay sometimes turns up the etched nickel-silver chassis kits from either the old Impetus or Crownline ranges.

There is a possibility that Modern Outline Kits may resurrect their own "08" kit from the mid-1980s, with the chassis being available separately.

• RMweb Premium

I already have been down that road, and I used a "Crownline Gronk chassis kit", that is no longer available, as I always wanted a smooth running 08. But the funny thing is that when I had completed the model, Bachmann released there RTR version.

The first two images shown the "Crownline chassis kit" before the body was attached with a 60:1 Comet or was it a tweaked DJH gear box (I think) :scratchhead: as I can not remember as it was made about 5+ years ago. The wheels are "Romfords" with extended shafts to allow the use of the correct conecting rods.

The third image shows the amount of additional detail that was add to the "Kitmaster Model" to give it a personal feel. And I would never sell it.

The 4th is the model is the completed model.

The model runs well until the motor developed a fault so at the moment I am looking for a small RG 4 to replace the current set up.

post-6815-0-99650300-1344113672.jpg

post-6815-0-06831500-1344113696.jpg

post-6815-0-93149100-1344113711.jpg

post-6815-0-98122700-1344113723.jpg