Intercity (Swallow) 37's

Derekstuart

Hello all

I'm sure this must have been asked at some point, but I cannot find any reference to it.

I am really not an expert on 37's whatsoever, but from what I've seen and read the I/C 37's were all /5s and thus didn't have ETH. Yet none of the ETH /4's were painted in Swallow for the sleeper trains to Inverness and Aberdeen (and/ or other I/C duties).

I believe that by this time the ETHEL's had gone. So what was the rationale behind doing it this way? 

Thanks
Derek

Hello all

I'm sure this must have been asked at some point, but I cannot find any reference to it.

I am really not an expert on 37's whatsoever, but from what I've seen and read the I/C 37's were all /5s and thus didn't have ETH. Yet none of the ETH /4's were painted in Swallow for the sleeper trains to Inverness and Aberdeen (and/ or other I/C duties).

I believe that by this time the ETHEL's had gone. So what was the rationale behind doing it this way? 

Thanks

Derek

Hi Derek

A few ex BG's were converted to generator vans to provide ETH.  These usually ran with a pair of 37's on the sleeper, but not always 37/5's, some 37/0's were also used/painted in IC Swallow livery - 37 251 "The Northern Lights"  /  37 221 and possibly one or two others.

HTH

Ken

Edited by tractor_37260

I assume it is because the /4's were already busy on other duties.

It could be because the ETH index of the 37/4's wasn't high enough to supply the needs of the full sleeper train, but that is pure speculation on my part.

Thanks Tractor for posting the pic of the BG/Generator van. That answered a question that has been lurking in the back of my railway musings for a while. I'd caught sight of a similar photo (possibly the same BG) but it hadn't been described as being a generator. I'd mis identified the full height side louvre's as being possibly a roller shutter door and wondered if this BG was kind of "Courier" modification.