DIN Plug Connector Novice Query

Redford73

Sorry for another idiot question but I haven't used these before.

I have a removeable board on my new layout in progress (DC analogue) with three tracks crossing to the main boards either side.  I'll be using copper clad sleepers with rail end soldered and the copper sleeper cut in the centre.

I have bought 7 pin DIN plug connectors for electrical connections.

There will be 6 wire feeds from the main board to 6 wire feeds from the removeable (on each end).

Does it matter which terminals I attach the wires to on the DIN connector?  I assume not but am a complete novice on wiring so just want to check.

I used Din plugs and chassis sockets for my lift out section 20 odd years ago, I would just use the pins not the body, they can be sods to solder so make sure you get the wires right first time, but there is no special order in which to connect the terminals.  They work well with DC with around 1 amp, 2 max but I would not use them on DCC  as Din plugs simply wont handle the current.

DIN connectors have been used for a long time to do exactly what you are doing. Sometimes pin 2 (the middle one) has a different type of pin more suited to solder the screen of screened cable to so if you only need six of the seven probably best to avoid pin 2.

DIN connectors have become a lot more expensive and less readily available nowadays (probably because they are not so widely used any more for audio applications) while at the same time the much better 'D' connectors have become cheaper. It will be well worth considering 'D' connectors for this task in future.