GWR - MPD

neilrh

I am planning for a MPD, based in GWR 1930-40 era. The MPD will include a 4 road shed, turntable, and coaling facilities. Since I'm not good at drawing stuff, I'll try to explain the general layout:

Road #1 - Ramp to coaling stage

Road #2 - Siding for trucks (ash disposal)

Road #3 - Turntable access, passing ashpit and coaling stage before reaching the turntable

Road #4 - Turntable access

Road #5-8 - Engine shed

Road #9-10 - Additional (open) sidings

Yard would be accessed from the main line from non-facing point (when considering up/down traffic), with a non-facing crossover for access to the other mainline.

Questions:

- Would I control points from a signal box, ground frames, or individual levers at each point?

- Pointwork - I assume Road #1 would require a catch point/derailer, because of risk of run away down the ramp. Should I include one on Road #2 (any other roads)? If I arranged the pointwork that Road #1 & 2 had a combined point of entry would I place the catch point before that split?

- Signalling - Does the main require a signal before the yard entrance (remember non-facing), should it include a shunt ahead signal for purposes of entering the yard?

- Signalling - Would the yard roads need ground signals? Would I include a Home/Starter signal at the yard exit?

- Roads #5-8 would include inspection pits and water cranes. Would I also include water crane on Road #3 and/or Road #4?

Non-facing points are more conveniently referred to as trailing points. The points controlling entry to the yard from the main lines and those allowing engines to leave the yard (whether trap points or proper points) would be controlled from the box. There would be a disc to read out of the yard and ones to read from each main line into the yard. Probably not stop signals on posts, but depends on the layout.