Review Of Dynamis

Hi All,

I am new to model trains - I had trains when I was about 14 and decided to return to them at 61 when I entered semi retirement.Also I had grandsons so that was my excuse for getting into model trains again!

I asked questions recently about the Dynamis controller on this forum and received loads of helpful replies - I decided to post a review in order to help others, as I really appreciated members taking the time and trouble to give their views to me.

I built my layout about 18 months ago and decided to go with DCC - I purchased a Hornby set which contained the Select control - I have no experience of other controllers so my comparison is only with the Select. My layout is about 10 by 4 and I have a DCC "bus" around the track with various pick ups. I have not yet started on the scenery.

I purchased a Bachmann sound diesel recently and was very pleased with it but I found it difficult to operate the sound functions with the Select - that was my main driver for purchasing the Dynamis.

I purchased the Dynamis from Hattons for £76 unboxed. I live about 2 miles from Hattons so it is not worth me purchasing from other suppliers because I always save on the postage. Well here goes my review - negatives first.

Negatives

I found it difficult to put in the batteries - very flimsy catch. After about a week the batteries needed replacing. Either I left the unit on or the batteries supplied with the unit were not very good!I have not had any problems with this aspect since.

Two connections for the track are supplied. I needed to use the adapter to fit in wires from my DCC bus. I found the plastic adapter quite flimsy and I had real trouble getting an effective connection to the Dynamis control box. Another connector is supplied - A wire with a jack to the Dynamis and normal track connectors. I cut off the track connectors and soldered the wires to my DCC bus and found this to be much better. The jack connector is a much better option.