Automating a 4 siding, 3 train shuttle

Sun VI

Morning All,

Do any of you good folk have knowledge / experience of automating layouts and may be able to give advice, guidance or sources of information that might be of help? I have very little knowledge of electrics and view the following as a means of improving this. I have in mind a very simple OO layout on which I can experiment with automation. Basically, I want to shuttle 3 trains between 4 sidings. There would be a small station or halt on a single track between the two fiddle yards. Each fiddle yard will contain one point that will be motor operated and part of the automated process. Board sizes and the choice of rolling stock are not critical, although trains must be capable of running realistically in either direction without the need for a loco to run around. I’ve tried to analyse exactly what I require:

System should recognise individual trains

System should recognise if each siding is empty or occupied

System should select next train to move and ensure correct direction

System should recognise origin and destination and set points accordingly

System should provide auto delay between each sequence

System should provide auto delay for trains stopped at halt

Trains stopping at the halt should stop and start smoothly

Class 128, parcels, shall not stop at halt

Class 121, bubble car, shall always stop at halt

Class 108 will sometimes stop at halt

I’m undecided or open minded on the following:

DC or DCC?

Computer control?

Directional lighting?

Sound?

Signals?

Track plan

post-26009-0-80289500-1465545665_thumb.jpg

NB, I realise a 24” fiddle yard is too short for a point plus sidings for a 2 car class 108.

Schematic of start position

post-26009-0-67899900-1465546081_thumb.png

and so on …

Sequence of automated actions

a i Set point Y to R and point Z to R

ii Move train 121 from siding 1 left to right

iii Stop at halt, wait n seconds then continue

iv Go into empty siding 4 and stop at end