Feedback via a Common Return

I am relatively new to model railways, having put it all away over 50 years ago, I returned to it last year for something to do in the winter months.

I had an old H&M Duette and some bits of Triang, and not too much money I decided that I would stick with analogue so I could teach myself all the electrics; get into it and perhaps think about DCC when I had mastered the basics,

Reading all the advice on these forums and with a few setbacks here and there I managed to create layout with PECO track, a twin controller, electrofrog points with switches and lots of sections. Testing was done with a loco and a circuit tester from Maplins as each bit was laid down and wired and all seemed OK.

Then I tried two locos and everything started - or didn't start.

I won't bore you with the hours and hours of frustration of going around in circles rechecking all connections; checking the diagrams etc.

I bought the little Gaugemaster tester - easier to use than the circuit tester- oh and meanwhile my 50 year old Duette packed up (now I think I might have fried it) so I bought a single controller, just to simplify things.

I made notes and diagrams on where things were going wrong on the layout, and nearly all related to 'power' being present when the section was allegedly switched off. Some sections stayed 'dead' whilst others stayed live - not even a consistent problem.

Reading some advice on this forum today, I disabled all wiring to all sections and just kept one section and one point live and tested that.

I thought I might have wired the points incorrectly but the point switched the polarity 'inside' the insulated connectors correctly and did not pass power over the turnout to another point coming the other way (both insulated connectors). However whichever way the point was switched, power was still apparently being passed along the straight which had one insulated connector (frog) and one normal connector.