The lure of 7mm diesel

jamest

• RMweb Gold

Hi all,

I've lurked many in layout topics for a few years but recently I've found myself wanting to dip my toe into the 7mm world. I initially thought a small shunting layout with perhaps a Dapol 08 - but looking around areas such as this has wetted my appetite for building my own. 

I've had a look at whats on offer around various sites but one thing that strikes (and worries me) is that unless you know the subject very well you will have trouble building and producing something worthwhile.

A little context:

I'm not a real expert, so I could put up with some inaccuracy.

I particularly like smaller diesel stuff from the green/early blue era (I'd love to do a Hymek).

I have decent skills and a lot of patience.

I do intend to join the GOG and go to my local(ish) show in Bristol early next year.

The cost seems significant (for example JLTRT kits + wheels + motor), but not unreasonable if I pick well and save sensibly. The one worry I have is spending that amount and not getting a decent return on my investment because of my lack of 'real' loco knowledge. I'd rather spend £500 on something I could take my time building than something RTR (no offence intended).

I know there is no quick substitute for decent research but I'd welcome any advice on the best early steps to take. I know you all had to take them once!

Cheers,

James

Welcome to O!

As a beginner, perhaps the best way to get what you want is if you have a particular region and era in mind, find a photo of a loco that you want which meets that criteria and send it to a kit manufacturer and ask if their kit makes that particular loco, and if not what you'll also need to build it.

I believe that JLTRT can offer exactly this service if you are already looking in their direction.

James,

A couple of random thoughts,