Ballasting in 0 Gauge

fezza

I'm new to 7mm and have to admit I am struggling with the appearance of my track....

Are there any special techniques for ballasting track in 0 Gauge? I tried using Woodland Scenics coarse ballast but it seems too coarse and produced a very uneven finish. What do people use for representing the ballast of an average branch line? I am looking for a slightly lived in but not neglected finish. Also are there any special techniques for representing the cess? Finally are there any easy ways to make Peco sleepers less 'plasticy' in appearance?

Thanks for any help you can offer an O Gauge newbie!

I use a mixture of 00 ballast and play sand. I brush it into the track, Spray with the cheapest nastiest hair spray and then mix 1:2 PVA/water and a drop of washing up liquid (Brakes water surface tension). I then  soak the ballast well using the PVA/water mix. Once the first lot of glue has set repeat the gluing.

I'm going to be doing some ballasting tomorrow so I will take some photos and post them tomorrow evening.

on the plastic sleepers I normally paint them with weathered wood mixed with nut brown I have some to paint once the ballast has gone off. I also have some wooden ones to paint and a mix of peco and wooden ones already painted to I will post some photos of that as well.

Marc  

I use a ballast supplied by Dapol which to me seems about the right size, and to try and replicate ash ballast I use kiln sand, which is the sand they brush in when laying block driveways.

As for the sleepers I only use wooden sleepers and these I stain almost black like the real ones, or if I'm after the neglected looking ones in weed strewn sidings, these I airbrush with a mix of white/grey/satin silver as the timber loses its colour over the years.

Regards,

Martyn.

Mine is a mixture of Woodland Scenics Medium ballasts.

I mix one tub of medium grey with one tub of medium grey blend and then a sprinkling of medium buff into the mix for mine.