Double or Single Slip for this junction?

DarrenMoffat

The layout below is part of an L shaped end-to-end , this part is to have an Inglenook Sidings puzzle.  I'm intending to build it with N gauge Peco Code 55.   It will be DCC operated. My plan is to bring in the rake with a Class 37 on the lower line and reverse it over to the sidings, the Class 37 will detach and a Class 08 will be used for the puzzle to build a new rake and place it on the upper line to have it picked up by the Class 37.

I've never built in Code 55 before nor used anything other than short set track points.  Do I need a single or double slip ?

Thanks,

Darren

post-30989-0-36420200-1484905786.jpg

My uninformative answer would be that you need a double slip due to space constraints, but one would be highly unlikely in a prototypical situation.

Sorry, but that probably does not help at all.

• RMweb Gold

What are the lines ? - the 3 sidings are fairly obvious but are the other two running lines for passengers ? for freight only ?

Freight only you could use a double slip, passenger lines would normally be a single, forming a crossover, but ... there are exceptions.

What are the lines ? - the 3 sidings are fairly obvious but are the other two running lines for passengers ? for freight only ?

Freight only you could use a double slip, passenger lines would normally be a single, forming a crossover, but ... there are exceptions.

Freight only, the whole thing is a depot on an imaginary military base, with the running lines terminating at the left and out on to "the mainline" at the right.

You make the choice between single and double exactly as they would on the prototype, with regard to the operating need and the rules. As there is no passenger traffic the rules will be less onerous. The only other factors that might influence choice are initial expense and maintenance costs. If you are using Peco track expense might be a factor for you but whatever you decide keep Rule One in mind!

Chaz