Drone Photography to create backscenes

• RMweb Gold

I am thinking about acquiring a drone with a view to using it to capture some imagery to use to compile a backscene.

I have a theory that the elevated viewpoint offered by a drone will provide a better perspective than photographs taken from ground level - effectively replicating the birds eye view we assume when looking down on our creation.

I am modelling a remote rural location and am aware of some of the regulations associated with flying drones close to other people, roads, railways, airports etc.

But otherwise, I am a total novice when it comes to drones and with a good one costing at least £300, with camera, I am hesitate to take the plunge.

Does anyone have any experience of this approach or any recommendations? I seem to remember that the owner of County Gate (a large 009 exhibition layout) had used aerial photography to create his backscenes?

With thanks in advance,

Steve

I am thinking about acquiring a drone with a view to using it to capture some imagery to use to compile a backscene.

I have a theory that the elevated viewpoint offered by a drone will provide a better perspective than photographs taken from ground level - effectively replicating the birds eye view we assume when looking down on our creation.

I am modelling a remote rural location and am aware of some of the regulations associated with flying drones close to other people, roads, railways, airports etc.

But otherwise, I am a total novice when it comes to drones and with a good one costing at least £300, with camera, I am hesitate to take the plunge.

Does anyone have any experience of this approach or any recommendations? I seem to remember that the owner of County Gate (a large 009 exhibition layout) had used aerial photography to create his backscenes?

With thanks in advance,

Steve