Bachmann 21 pin decoder writing - ok, working loco - no

MarkNewZealand

Hi Everyone

I'm still new to the DCC decoder setup, so when things don't go right i'm left scratching my head.

I recently purchased a Bachmann Class 66 loco with DCC fitted. I put the loco on the programming track and changed the decoder address (Running a Hornby Elite unit). All seemed normal in the setup.

When i put the loco on the track all of the lights come on and there is a humming sound. The loco will not respond to the controller. I did try and reset the decoder (CV8 to 8, which i read online). Went through the process again with the same outcome.

Not sure where to go from here, which is why I've turned to the forum. Can anyone provide some suggestions on what to do, or is the decoder fried?

Thanks 

Mark

Humming is normally associated with a DC model sitting on a DCC track, as the motor protests about being hit with a pseudo AC voltage, so maybe your DCC Fitted is actually DCC Ready (i.e. Ready to be fitted).

If you can read back the new address then you know your loco is decoder equipped and that the previous programming worked. Edit: if your reset worked then the loco should respond to address 3 if not the new address.

Else the frying you fear could be the motor not the decoder if one is not installed.

​Rob

Edited by RAFHAAA96

H

Humming is normally associated with a DC model sitting on a DCC track, as the motor protests about being hit with a pseudo AC voltage, so maybe your DCC Fitted is actually DCC Ready (i.e. Ready to be fitted).

If you can read back the new address then you know your loco is decoder equipped and that the previous programming worked. Edit: if your reset worked then the loco should respond to address 3 if not the new address.

Else the frying you fear could be the motor not the decoder if one is not installed.

​Rob