8-pin Bachmann 66 sounds like lawnmower and slow

faa77

I have an older Bachmann 66 analogue but 8-pin which sounds very unwell. In one direction it's a little loud and moves slow (I'd guess 40% of top speed) and in the other direction is is very loud and moves even slower (20%?). In the second direction it sounds like a lawnmower! Not a screech, but just a general loud..... grinding? noise.

As a layman my best guess would be some sort of cog/gear/something-with-teeth has blunt teeth and they are not interfacing with the other cog/gear as efficiently as they should, causing the loud noise, with little movement. However, this is just a guess.

I was wondering if people could give an idea what I could do/check?

Edited by faa77

In my experience the first place to look for this set of symptoms (slow, noisy, grinding sounds) on centre motor twin bogie drives is whether the drive couplers in the flywheels are slipping.

This does mean a strip down of the mechanism so worth first looking for the 'sign peculiar' that indicates that this may be the cause. Put single dots of marker pen ink on the driven wheel tyre sides to make it easier to assess rotational rate. If you can see that the wheels are turning at different rates when comparing one bogie to the other, most likely it is slipping drive couplers. (The shaft drive to both bogies means that all wheels must turn at the same rate if the mechanism is in good shape.)

There are other potential causes, but they are all going to be 'internal' so you lose little by stripping down the mechanism even if the drive couplers are not slipping. The other major possibility is if the model has stood out of use for some time (years) and the grease lubricant has set solid on the gears. Makes dreadful noises, corrected by a clean up and light relubrication: that only requires the bogies to come out..

• Thanks 1
  • Informative/Useful 1

• RMweb Gold

As it's an 'older' model, can I ask if it has spent any time in storage?