Power supplies for multiple accessories

I have been modelling for a few years now but I still consider myself a novice, so I hope this question is not ridiculously silly:

I am currently looking into adding some lighting to my layouts buildings as well as having some street lighting. I have a controller with an accessory power supply (16v AC) and I currently power a CDU for the turnouts and a Faller water wheel off of this source.

My question is do you think I might be asking a bit much of this accessory power supply to use it to control the lights? If so then are there 16v accessory transformers available and can anyone reccommend a good one?

I am planning to use the new Hornby range of lighting because of how easy it looks to use. Are there any disadvantages to using this system?

Many thanks

Stephen

Stephen,

I am relatively new to model making but I have put lighting into my buildings and installed working street lights. I assume you are using DCC as you mention 16v AC. I decided against using my controller for the lights for two reasons (1) the controller is busy enough coping with the locos and points (anyone using the Elite will know what I mean) and (2) I overheard a someone at an exhibition saying that his lights kept blowing and the reason given was that the voltage from his controller was not sufficiently stable. Perhaps that was a sales pitch but I bought a 12v DC transformer and lights and made up a switch panel (all from Kytes Lights) and have been very pleased with the results. I was warned that the transformer needs 20 bulbs in order to work but mine works with nine. So far I have three sets of nine lights operated by three separate switches. Sorry I cannot answer your technical question about the capability of your controller.

Harold.

• RMweb Gold

I have been modelling for a few years now but I still consider myself a novice, so I hope this question is not ridiculously silly: