ZTC accessory operation

philg

I’m just starting out with some Roco “under ballast” point motors - https://www.roco.cc/en/product/220770-0-0-0-0-0-0-005002-0/products.html 

Their address is programmed using a capture method. With the motor in programming mode, just send an operating command

It works brilliantly, apart from one thing. If I program an accessory address from a ZTC 511, they will NOT respond on an NCE or JMRI system. And vice versa

Looks like ZTC is not programming the actual address that I think it is

Hope this is making sense and someone can shed light on it

Many thanks

Its the +/- 4 problem.  

Try again, with an address offset by 4 in either direction. 

There's a hole in the DCC specification.  Some makers read a part of the spec one way, and some a different way.  Both interpretations are understandable.   Unfortunately they give different ranges of addresses for accessory decoders.  One starts counting at "0" and the other at "1".  Because accessory decoders are in groups of four, this leads to the offset of +/-4.    

Its one of the main reasons that accessory device makers use the "learn" approach to programming them.  You don't have to explain the multiple ways to address things in the instructions.  It works until someone moves their accessory decoders from one system to another !

- Nigel

• Like 1

Interesting. I’ll also look at a +/-1 offset too. If, as you say, someone starts at 0 or 1 this may be all I need

A real pain I can’t query what’s exactly in the address cvs

I’ll report back later (and I have to admit to a memory of ZTC in the REALLY early days insisting that they knew better than most

Phil G

Well, this seemed so logical, but....

if I program to address 1 with ZTC, it doesn’t respond on NCE to any address from 1 through 5

if I reprogram to 1 on NCE, ZTC doesn’t operate it on address 1 through 5

Now open to the next suggestion

I AM grateful for the thought though - shame it wasn’t the correct answer