Hornby Dublo 2-Rail Track Geometry

Nearholmer

I'm revving-up to have another go at my stalled "1963" layout, and this time want to go the whole hog and try proper HD 2-rail track, rather than modern Peco.

I'm studying the sixpenny booklet of 2-rail track formations, but it seems to lack a few important details, like the radius of the "large" curves, and the standard track spacing created using a crossover (presumably, the difference between 15" and the mystery number). By deduction, I'm thinking that the standard track spacing might be 3" (=huge!) and the large radius 18".

Can anyone point to an on-line guide to the 2-rail track geometry and, just out of interest, what size is the rail? 0.125"?

Many thanks in advance for any clues.

Kevin

• Like 1

• RMweb Premium

I've just run the calipers along one of my two pieces of HD track and the rail seems to be around code 110. I had varying readings along the rail.

Can't help with the other question as I had one point and one straight piece. The plastic on the straight piece has perished/is perishing. It was bought to go wit the mail pickup unit.

• Thanks 1

I still use Hornby Dublo track on parts of the layout, the sleeper spacing is better, however the plastic goes brittle, best drill extra holes for pins.

The metal points are almost indestructible the electric, all live frog ones, very reliable idea for hidden points tunnels etc. Most are 60 plus years old and some been on a layout for at least that amount. Might look unsightly but they work, and don't give trouble 

2 hours ago, Nearholmer said:

Am I in danger, then, of buying old HD track that then falls to bits "in five minutes" due to plastic degradation?

Buyer beware, that's why I like to see and feel for stuff before I buy it, anything 60 years old will show some wear and tear, deteriorate depends on exposure to sunlight, ozone, damp, oil, etc.