O gauge Track dimensions and soldering flexi track

Oliver1940

Hello,

I'm fairly new to O gauge and have been using OO and I'm looking to start an O gauge layout. My question is I plan to use a 6ft curve radius but need to make sure that it means the width of the loop is 6ft? Also if I'm using flexi track and track setters so should I solder the rails before curving them or should I use another method? Thanks!

Oliver

Edited by Oliver1940

• Oliver1940 changed the title to O gauge Track dimensions and soldering flexi track

Good to know you are starting in 0 gauge Oliver.  I've been doing it for about 6 years, after doing 00 for about 30.  Probably the best modelling decision I made.  No more horrid compromises with gauge and couplings.

A 6' radius curve should be comfortable but bear in mind it is equivalent to ~3' in 00.  The width of the loop, or diameter, will therefore be 12'.  You're a lucky chap if you have that kind of room.

Soldering rails around curves is a standard practice I believe and will stop the track from kinking.

My layout is 21' long and that includes a 5' sector plate.  My layout thread is linked below.

John

4 hours ago, Oliver1940 said:

My question is I plan to use a 6ft curve radius but need to make sure that it means the width of the loop is 6ft?

Radius is the distance in a straight line from the centre of a circle to the edge.

Diameter is the distance across the circle, edge to edge,  in a straight line through the centre, so is twice the radius.

A 6ft radius circle, has a diameter of 12ft.

I suspect this discussion will now go in the direction of what the minimum usable radius for 0 is, the answer to which is “it depends on a lot of things”, and is discussed in a thread here somewhere that explores what all those things are.

• Agree 1

1 hour ago, Oliver1940 said:

Thanks for the quick replies answering both my questions. Now knowing this I might go for an L shape layout or most likely an end to end. 

Cheers

Oliver