Replacing couplings on Hornby coaches

(Firstly I should say that I'm an absolute beginner with railway modelling, so please excuse me if I say something silly 😁)

In the interest of starting a proper layout I recently dug out a couple of 00 gauge locos and stock that I got about a decade ago, and noticed that the tension-lock couplings on the Hornby coaches I have are a lot larger than those on a Bachmann loco I'd like to run with them; furthermore the Hornby couplings are held in place on the bogies by a clip, while the Bachmann ones use NEM pockets. Is it worth attempting to replace the larger ones with the smaller Bachmann pockets? It'd involve removing a fair bit of plastic from the bogies and attaching the pockets to them somehow - this would also be the first 'DIY' modelling project I've ever done.

Hornby coaches are a right old hotch potch of left overs from now defunct manufacturer's ranges.   Yours sound like ex Airfix which came with much neater tension locks  than Hornby fitted and the Airfix tension locks clip int the same clips as a direct replacement.    Older ones from when Triang/Hornby dropped the Triang Prefix were nice pressed tin couplings normally attached with rivets to coaches and screws to locomotives.  They give excess spacing but the height can be adjusted.  I sift these back on the bogie to reduce the gap between coaches.   Then they made the coupling integral with the bogie, Nasty "Superseal" metal rim plastic wheels which are tight to gauge.   You can turn the bogie round and fit a coupling to the back end but lie's too short.  The latest we have have the coupling on the body not the bogie which have their own infuriating peculiarities.  I treat Hornby like an aid to scratch building or a display cabinet model rather than an actual ready to run on a layout model.

2 hours ago, TW1306 said:

furthermore the Hornby couplings are held in place on the bogies by a clip, while the Bachmann ones use NEM pockets.