What are all these connexions for?

melmerby

Whilst I’m not an expert, may I hazard a guess?

1. multiple loco control.

2. coach power supplies.

3. transducer connections - these tell “base” where each individual vehicle is on the network and if connected, can all say the same thing!

4. engine management controls - “talking” to each other. Different to 1. in that each locos engine may perform differently during the run. ?

What I do know is that modern US locos are very sophisticated, have a lot of engine management systems and communications systems. Wherever Amtraks base is, will know all about each locos performance and whether anything needs changing en route. Plus the same again for each coach!

All that needs a lot of cables.

Happy for any further input or corrections though.

• RMweb Premium
On 05/10/2022 at 12:20, Allegheny1600 said:

What I do know is that modern US locos are very sophisticated

Freight locos seem equally well provided with interconnexions.

Some I know are for traction current so that excess TE can be passed to a road slug for better pulling power. FEC do this regularly.

I've also seen BNSF locos piloting an Amtrak train, with cables connected, more than once on Virtual railfan

• RMweb Gold
33 minutes ago, melmerby said:

Freight locos seem equally well provided with interconnexions.

Some I know are for traction current so that excess TE can be passed to a road slug for better pulling power. FEC do this regularly.

I've also seen BNSF locos piloting an Amtrak train, with cables connected, more than once on Virtual railfan

So modern amtrack stuff is still fitter with AAR multi working.  Do US locos have air pipes for what we know as straight air brake?

The black hose in the center is the automatic air brake train line (all engines).

The three black hoses on either side are the engine brake hoses (almost all engines).