Lamp codes and the Railway Operating Division overseas

Hi all, please forgive me if this is the wrong forum and for what may be a very simple question.

I've been collecting and running some ROD locomotives in OO as I've become very interested in WWI and the operations of the ROD (and the light railways as well) since the centennial a few years back. I'd like to add lamps to the front of the locomotives as they look rather bare, but I understand that the position of the lamps has significance in relaying what the train is supposed to be. I've seen charts detailing the different lamp positions and what they mean, but I'm wondering if the trains being operated by the Railway Operating Division in France/overseas would have used the same lamp codes or would there be any significant differences? 

I'm in the US and mostly model 1950s steam in HO so I'm still learning the different operating procedures of railways overseas, but I couldn't find anything about this particular subject. I'd greatly appreciate any information, thank you!

James 

• Like 1

In the UK lamps indicate to the signalman the class of train to determine priority/speed or for routing.

I don't know about wartime operations in France, but where they were running on existing French railways, I would have thought they would have observed local practice.  But if they were at the front line, perhaps on track laid by the military, wouldn't lamps make trains easier for the enemy to target?

• Like 1

2 hours ago, Dana Ashdown said:

I'm not at home at the moment, so I can't check, but O.S. Nock did a book about fifty years ago entitled something like "Railways at War," and published by Blandford Press. I don't remember it having anything about lamp codes in the Great War, but I'll look anyway.

Many thanks! 

1 hour ago, Michael Hodgson said:

In the UK lamps indicate to the signalman the class of train to determine priority/speed or for routing.