DB branch line Rath Ost

roythebus1

Seeing the excellent pictures of the Wolfstatt layout on here reminded me of my small German layout I built in the early 1980s. Following a visit to the Koeln Ausstellung (Cologne Exhibition) in 1980 I met a DB driver with whom I am still frends. We got chatting on a BR101 outside the show and he was visiting London a couple of weeks later. I was a driver at Waterloo at the time, so offered him somewhere to stay. He turned up, had a few beers etc, we went to saty with him, and long story short he gave me a DB layout/track plans book. I becmae interested in the current DB scene as it still had loads of wagon load traffic, classic silverfish trian , loco hauls, as well as new stuff coming on line.

Studying the track plan book I found a large plan that had a branch line on it that looked suitable for a small starter layout. This was about the time Peco introduced their code 75 HO track, so gave that a try. I had 3 baseboards, the track laid, a couple of locos, some wagons and a few coaches. The layout worked, so a few buildings appeared.

At the Model Railway club a few weeks later, Vic Michel came in and asked if I had a layout available for an exhibition. When? Next Saturday in Harpenden. Well, er, yes, but it's only baseboards and track and 3 buildings. Vic knew me well and knew the layout would work. In the ensuing days I built a set of return loops for somewhere for the trains to go. This was a bit of a novelty as nobody in the UK seems to use them. All very simple to wire up and we could have 2 trains running at a time.