Dublo 25kv BR emu

For a bit of light relief from waving hot soldering irons about,i found this stripped Dublo emu trailer car in my box of bits.I bought a couple of Cl.303? moulded ends from DC kitsand fitted them to the coach.My question is,what to use for the cab roof profile,layered plastic card or a piece  of balsa sanded to shape once i work out the profile?.As you can see i have a kitmaster motor bogie,several in fact to power it.

Ray

Cl.304.jpg

AC EMU 1.jpg

AC EMU 2.jpg

• Like 10

• RMweb Premium
On 12/05/2023 at 15:48, sagaguy said:

.My question is,what to use for the cab roof profile,layered plastic card or a piece  of balsa sanded to shape once i work out the profile

Hi Ray. 

That's a very interesting project. Some time ago I had a go at a ''home brewed'' Brighton Belle using some old scrap Triang ''shorty'' Pullmans. I got round the cab roof profile by cutting the original roof short by about an inch then extending a sort of platform/false cab ceiling to fit the cab front. I then built up a rough roof front profile using scrap plasticard bits. When all was dried and set hard I built up on the scrap plasticard with Milliput to get an approximate cab roof profile. Again I left it for a week or so to set hard then got to work with a file. I'm sorry to say that the project is still languishing in the unfinished pile some ten years later but last time I clapped eyes on it it was still in good shape with no warping or twisting 

On reflection maybe the balsa wood option might be less work.

Regards, Rich.

• Agree 1

I'm one of "those people" who read that article when it came out and eventually made that 4 car unit in the mid 1960s! Note the article has a 2-character headcode box which none of them had. I went on to make a couple of the ER units. All these survived until about 30 years ago when I off-loaded them in the MRC's exhibition shop!