Signal at Tenterden, K&ESR

Artless Bodger

Good morning, I'm a novice when it comes to signalling. I'm intrigued by the 3 arm signal at the up end of Tenterden station on the old K&ESR where both loop roads had platforms and passenger trains could be crossed. The signal has 2 arms for the approach to the station and one for departure on the same post. I presume the single one acted as starter for either road in the loop.

What was the rule for interpreting the two approach (home?) arms? One photo I have seen shows a train approaching up the bank with the points set for the main platform (right hand road) and the lower arm off, so I'm inclined to believe the arms were read downwards for routes from the left to right. Would this be correct?

If the left hand road in the loop was goods ony, would the arm for it be a short one? Would the priority from top to bottom be different, i.e. with the top arm refering to the primary - passenger - route and the goods loop arm moved down?

(Thinking of a single signal for my light railway inspired BLT layout, just beginning).

Thanks in advance.

That signal is no longer there, although it was still serving in the 1970s IIRC, and a very sad loss IMO, because it was so archetypically light railway. Not only were the routes ‘stacked’, but the actual stopping position for one train to give clearance for another wasn’t the signal post. The relationship to the level crossing was a bit interesting too, although I think that was because the crossing was a private one, not on a highway, and I’m not sure it was interlocked. Everything there is now very boringly “proper” I noticed last time I was there.

Stacked signals (usually only shunt signals on a modern not-light railway) do indeed read left to right, top to bottom.