Need Some Help Please

Hell to All  and thank you for having me , i need some help please to design a model layout , i am a complete novice and feel way out of my depth , the space i have available is  74 inches  long  by 28 inch wide        that is  all the free space i have, what i would like to have on the board is  some sort of switching goods yard , something that can give a good bit of enjoyment without getting bored , sort of shelf layout  END to END  { if i am making sense }    is it possible for someone to do me a Track plan please  as i have tried but keep messing it up , i will be modelling early to late 70,s era  , All in OO Scale and with DCC   , I know this is a big ask  but would be very very grateful  if anybody  could come up with something      Many Thanks   Tim

• RMweb Gold

Hi

At only 28” wide, there is insufficient width to accommodate a 180 degree turn, so you are limited to a shunting or depot type plan. Unless you can add a removable plank to house a fiddle yard.

As it’s your first attempt, whatever you do, I’d recommend treating it as a short term experiment that allows you to make mistakes and learn as you go. Very few people get it right first time, so just accept it maybe short term , and that versions 2, 3, 4 etc are only around the corner.

Ian

• Like 3

Hi Andy & ITG       Yes a shunting or depot type plan.    but  need something that wont be boring     im trawling the net  to see what i can find , the board will be MDF   what advice  can you give me on what sort of track to use  ?   Thanks Tim

Welcome Tim.

Mdf isnt a recommended material for making baseboards, most here will vote for good quality plywood, minimum 9mm thick. 

It will help anyone suggesting a plan, if you could possibly find a location that interests you to make it the basis of a model. 

When you talk about messing up, what track planning software if any have you tried?

Era is basically 'Blue Diesel' , is that correct?