MMP kits - time consuming and complex, but achievable for a beginner?

Hi guys,

I've sent an email to Mr. Parkins regarding his kits - normally I wouldn't even worry about it, but his web-page specifically mentions the gulf between builds-itself kits like JLTRT, and 'craftsman' style kits like DJH. Now I'm not experienced enough to know or have seen the difference in person - but I was wondering if anyone could provide any anecdotes about their experiences building MMP kits?

Specifically I'd like to know about the Class 40. My own experience is limited to the connoisseur starter kit, but I'm full of gumption!

MAny thanks,

Take a look at Simon Varnams building 7mm online he covers most of the mmp kits so you can see what is involved in building one. I guess it also boils down to how good you are with a soldering iron & how well you build kits.

Simon.

At the weekend I finished building my first MMP kit - the 35.5 ton class B tank wagon. I've made many kits before including JLTRT but this was my first MMP one. It took me about 6 months to do, probably because I would get distracted by something else then come back to it, but as the end came into view I spent more and more time on it. There were a couple of occasions where I got slightly disheartened by it's complexity and my abilities (lack of) but I'm very glad I persevered because it's ended up as an excellent model with a staggering amount of detail. The brake linkages really look like they could work.

I'm so pleased with it I've bought another one :)

Julian