NCC Powercab and accessory decoders

Danemouth

I am about to get a NCE Powercab starter set for my new layout Danemouth. This is my first time with DCC and I want to get it right at the beginning - don't we all :rolleyes:

There will be 10 Seep point motors to operate, so I am in the process of deciding which accessory decoder to use. I've search the forum and ended up slightly bemused so I though I would ask the question directly - I've been recommended to use the Team Digital SMD82. Does anybody have any experience with is decoder please - what do you think of it?

Does anybody suggest an alternative that reliably works with the Powercab and Seeps?

Thanks in advance,

Dave

Dave,

I use Powercab but not Seep point motors. However, I believe Seeps are solenoid operated which is the same type as the Hornby point motors I use. Because I decided on Hornby originally, I use the Hornby R8247 Point and Accessory Decoders and can confirm that Powercab operates them perfectly. Hornby's decoder controls four points from each unit - I believe other makes may control more so one consideration may be how many units you need to control all your points. In case it is of interest, if you have two points you always want to control in unison, you can wire them to one port of the decoder.

I hope this helps,

Harold.

I use the powercab/Procab to operate a few Lenz LS 150 units that in turn operate SEEP motors.

The Lenz units take only the command information from the Powercab and the LS150 units have their own power supply a lenz TR150 unit and have never had a problem at all. The Lenz LS150 units have six outputs so for 10 pints you will only need two

• RMweb Gold

Another vote for MERG accessory decoder boards from me :D If you don't fancy building your own then make sure that any proprietary unit has a CDU (Capacitive Discharge Unit) built in, you can get away without one as some have said earlier, but why take the risk. The Team Digital unit is very good, if a bit pricey ;)