Computer Control - Roco Multimaus & JMRI, Arduino, CMRI

Hi,

I'm very new to DCC and I've got my self a Roco Multimaus 10810 thats working great with my single DCC Class 26. I also got a Lenz LS150 accessory decoder that I can change 2 points I've got connected, great fun.

I'd like to link my lapout to my PC and use JMRI to run my train automatically and change the points using the JMRI scripting (I'm ok with that bit)

My question is it possible to connect a Lenz LI-USB interface to the slave port on the 10810 to achieve this? Is there any other interface that I can connect my 10810 to my computer.

Has anyone ever done it?

Thanks very much. Jim

JMRI documentation page:

http://www.jmri.org/help/en/html/hardware/XPressNet/index.shtml

Shows that a MultiMaus supports most things other than hardware feedback (ie. output from sensors around the layout; if using those you need another mechanism to get the sensor data back into the computer)

Interface options;

the Lenz adaptor is a bit expensive though should work. Lenz have said its due to be replaced (but Lenz have announced things before then never released them..)

The XnTCP solution looks better, has good end user comments and is cheaper, but I've not built one. As DIY electronics projects go, its probably about as complex as a decoder hard-wire and lighting installation.

- Nigel,

Roco DCC kit is Lenz designed or made.

Most of the Roco electronic add-on modules (accessory decoders etc,) are just re-badged Lenz ones. Roco's own computer interface may well be exactly the same or similar to the Lenz module.

Incidently, Roco have their own layout control software to go with the MultiMaus.

It's called RocoMotion and is made by Freiwald, the producers of RR&co.

...The XnTCP solution looks better, has good end user comments and is cheaper, but I've not built one. As DIY electronics projects go, its probably about as complex as a decoder hard-wire and lighting installation.