Hornby 110 DMU

graham2650

I am new to OO gauge having just converted from N gauge. I am looking for a Hornby 110 DMU of which there seem to be several available on a well known auction site. Can anybody tell me which are the better versions for motors/wheels as I understand that there may be subtle differences which are not immediately obvious.

• RMweb Gold

I obtained a secondhand version of R2297B (original green livery with speed whiskers), which I beleive was one of the later production runs. My version has traction tyres, a pancake motor (IIRC) and is not a particularly good runner. Given the amount of work needed to bring it up to today's standards I will probably just keep it as part of my older "train set" collection.

The R2297 (A,B or C with different running numbers) versions are the later versions, with traction tyres) and are better runners than the earlier ones. I have 2 of the later types and one of the earlier ones. None are up to Bachmann DMU running qualities, indeed one of the later types is a better runner than the other, with no apparent reason. However having said all that they DO RUN and are not too bad on the detail front either. You get exactly what you pay for.

My R377 refurbished white with blue stripe one 'goes like the clappers'!

It is just unfortunate that for space reasons I have to think about parting with it in the near future, so as to make room for the rest of the 'Pretendolino', a blue Cravens and all those 2011 Hornby goodies everyone is speculating about on the other thread.

• 1 year later...

Looking at the other two cars, it would be also worthwhile replacing the bogies on these with spares I have from 101s. Only problem is you would have to change the corridor connections as the original ones on the 110 are too long when the new bogies are fitted. I had to fit a shorter one to the power car to get it to clear.