N gauge steam loco front wheels

I'm thinking of buying an N-gauge steam loco to run steam specials on my BR blue era layout. The only issue I have is that looking at photos of GF steam locos on various internet sites, the front wheels on 4-6-2, 4-6-0 etc. locos look very chunky in the width department. Is it possible to fit replacements and how easy is this to do? Apologies for my lack of knoweldge here - I am new to N-gauge and 100% new to model steam locos!!

Many thanks, Phil.

I'm thinking of buying an N-gauge steam loco to run steam specials on my BR blue era layout. The only issue I have is that looking at photos of GF steam locos on various internet sites, the front wheels on 4-6-2, 4-6-0 etc. locos look very chunky in the width department. Is it possible to fit replacements and how easy is this to do? Apologies for my lack of knoweldge here - I am new to N-gauge and 100% new to model steam locos!!

Many thanks, Phil.

An age old problem with N gauge, the answer is difficult, ..no..... but there may be the alternative of using 2mm society wheels, but they are really designed for fine scale track use, and not be a match for the drivers, and difficult to fit.

N gauge has always had relatively course scale wheels, and are getting a bit finer commercially, but there have never been suppliers of finer versions, Beaver did try a few years ago, but no others as far as I know, and Beaver are long gone.

With a lathe is it possible to modify some of the wheels, but they are often plated and it ruins the surface.

By chance you may find wheels from another make look better, but it's chance when it happens.

Stephen.

Those are only on the older Farish heritage locomotives, the new Scots and Jubilees have much improved front wheels, in fact you get a choice - nice curves on your layout and you can use a very nice set, use set track curves and there is a more suitable set that won't foul the pistons.