Layout Help - OO

Cpt Cheddar

Hello all

I am brand new to railway modelling, I got my first kit for christmas & been relentlessly accumulating stock since. I've spent a lot of (too much??) time on the forums, and decided to stick with 00, and to ditch the Hornby set-track i've bought (eBay proved too tempting, dove in without research) and swap to Peco 75. It will be a DCC layout. I'm planning on building a non location/era specific layout and then running either late BR steam/modern era diesel as mood depends. I am building this with a willing friend, but our combined knowledge beyond basic carpentry is fairly small so consider this a cry for help!

We moved house last year & inherited a single garage which had been partitioned off so the back two-thirds have been turned into a home office/spare room - it's been plasterboarded out, chipboard floor with low-spec carpet, ideal for a man-room! Measures approx 3290 mm x 2310 mm, with a door in one corner.

One immediate compromise I've had to make is to share the centre of the room for storage, things that can be easily removed to access the layout. This has however determined the size of my baseboards, rather than build them to suit a track plan. I've constructed permanent boards about 1050 mm high, floor standing on a 2 x 2 softwood frame and 9mm Ply sheeting over the top. I took the decision to seal the boards with varnish, and after several tense days wait, I'm delighted to say there's no noticeable warp or bend to the plywood!