GWR 93xx and 51xx topfeeds

Hi All,

I'm working on a Bachmann 93xx and an Airfix 61xx. The 61xx I want to build as a 51xx or 5101 class. My questions are: Are the topfeeds on a 93xx and 51xx the tall or short types please? Also, can a 5101 class be built using the Airfix body, ie any external differences? My questions may be a bit simplistic, but I'm mainly an LMS builder and have very little in the way of GWR reference books. I'm building my layout as an LMS terminus somewhere in the West Midlands which has GWR locos and stock running into it as well.

Regards,

Mark.

61XX and 51XX both had the same S2 boiler and are very similar engines. .The 51XX had a lower boiler pressure. Both were fitted with low safety valve covers from new. With such a large number of standard boilers in circulation it is very likely that the odd tall valve cover appeared. Usual thing, check photographs.

The class to avoid are some of the earlier ex 31XX prairies that had a larger boiler/square front frames. The numbering/rebuilding is complex story, too complicated to go through here

93xx again were fitted with the low cover from new and I have found no shots of a substitute tall cover.

Regards

Mike Wiltshire

Hi Mike,

Thank you for the reply, very helpful. I would just like to know the second part of my 51xx question, is the 5101 class different from the 51xx class, can I build one using the Airfix 61xx body?

Regards,

Mark.

Mark,

The answer is lurking in Mike's second paragraph. Strictly speaking, its best to avoid calling them 51XX, better to call the two classes 5100 and 5101, thoug even that is slightly confusing. The 5100s were built as 3100s from 1903 to 1906. These were numbered 3100 and 3111 to 3149. Later they were renumbered by changing the three to five. There are many differences between these and the 6100s.