Sound in the new Dapol HST

hst125

Hi there ,

can anyone help me. I have been modelling in N for 8 years now and wish to move to Sound. I have grasped most things with regards to DCC and chipping/programming my locos, however, there is no readily available info for how i insert sound chips into the loco's such as the farish 108 and my newly purchased HST. I beleive the company i need to deal with is Southwest Digital in order to get the micro speakers, chip etc. Has anyone dne any of this, how easy is it to do, what sort of cost and more importantly can i fet a paxman velenta sound for my HST as it wouls really revive a childhood memory and more so wouls help me get one back with the double O fraternity at my club in yeovil.

Please Help , any info would be of use. I know this technology exists but there is no knowledge of it.

Paul

Not to decry SWD but they are not the only supplier. As to the original sound file, you will need to ask the supplier although small differences in sound are lost in small speakers.

You might also have a look at YooChoos website ( of this parish as well ) to see whether the CT decoder has this sound as it is quite a bit smaller.

At the moment ESU suppliers are all converting their sound projects to encompass the new V4 decoder. You could still buy the sounds available in a V3.5 project loaded into a V4 decoder but word is filtering down that this can change the way the sounds are played and defeat the work that has gone into making the decoder sound the way it does.

I don't know about Zimo but a look on the Digitrains site or a PM to pauliebanger on here might point you in the right direction.

Hi