Advice Needed on 1980's Scottish Coach formations

Mike W2

I used to post on the old RMweb and this is my first time on the new site, so apologies if I'm repeating any questions etc that anybody else may have asked.

I'm modelling the Falkirk area (in a fictitious setting), in the mid to late 80's and I'm trying to get my Rolling Stock in order. I'm sorted out for the Edinburgh-Glasgow push-pull rakes but I'm turning my attention to the smaller local loco hauled passanger trains.

What I need is some sample 3 and 4 car coach formations using Mk I and non-aircon Mk 2 coaches, similar to those seen on layouts like Airthrey Park. For example it could be Mk I's like SO,SO,CK,BSK if that makes any sense.

Also I need to know which of the Bachmann Mk 2 coaches is suitable for my layout as I've noticed they are labelled Mk 2, Mk 2a and Mk 2s.

If anyone can help it would be greatly appreciated as it would mean I would know which coaches to keep, sell and buy.

many thanks

Mike

There weren't really that many loco hauled trains through Falkirk, except Glasgow - Edinburgh

The main exception would be those through Falkirk Grahamston, which would then add the Inverness - Euston and Inverness - Kings Cross

The Inverness - Edinburgh would also use this route

So starting with the push-pull sets you have :

Mark 2A TSO-TSO-TSO-TSO(T)-FK-DBSO (only one such rake, fitted with air brakes)

Mark 2D TSO-TSO-TSO-TSO(T)-FO/FK-DBSO

Mark 3A TSO-TSO-TSO-FO-DBSO

You then have the Glasgow / Edinburgh - Inverness, and these were used on the peak hour Glasgow - Edinburgh push-pull (such as the 17:13 Glasgow - Edinburgh)

Mark 2A/B/C TSO-TSO-BFK-TSO(T)-TSO or TSO-TSO(T)-BSO-FK/CK-TSO-TSO or combinations thereof

The Clansman Inverness - Euston

I don't have diagrams for this, but would expect :

Mark 2E/F TSO-TSO-TSO-TSO-TSO-RBR-FO-FO-NHA

There was also a brief spell when the train joined and split at Carstairs, however neither of these were routed via Falkirk