Fitting sound to a Bachmann 150 in OO?

James Hilton

Hi chaps,

I'm new to this DCC malarkey but to gently dip my toe in I'm looking to build a short SLT branch.

I'm keen to try some DCC sound, and the thought of a revving sprinter with all the door buzzers and everything else, plus some flange squeal etc has got me hooked.

So...

I've looked at the Howes ESU decoders - which I gather are great quality, and also the Olivia's train option (a little cheaper).

I'm a complete DCC novice (though by no means a modelling novice).

The thought of fitting and messing up a DCC sound installation (due to the costs involved) is making me wonder about getting it professionally fitted... however I wanted to gather the RMweb knowledge together and ask...

'How hard is it - and how do I do it!!?'

Pragmatic answers on a post card. I look forward to reading them - hopefully a few days so I can prepare the credit card for a bashing! :)

Cheers

James.

• RMweb Gold

you may be better asking this in the dcc sound section!

Anyway the Bachmann 150 has a 21 pin socket so its just a case of putting the chip in and wiring a speaker to the speaker tabs on the pcb, i believe there is even a space for the speaker to fit already

If you look in the dcc sound section you should find a video of my howes sprinter chip fitted to a Hornby 153 with all the door sounds, buzzer etc (in srmans sound clip video thread)

you may be better asking this in the dcc sound section!

Anyway the Bachmann 150 has a 21 pin socket so its just a case of putting the chip in and wiring a speaker to the speaker tabs on the pcb, i believe there is even a space for the speaker to fit already

If you look in the dcc sound section you should find a video of my howes sprinter chip fitted to a Hornby 153 with all the door sounds, buzzer etc (in srmans sound clip video thread)

Cheers Jim - I ummmed and ahhhd for a while about which forum it went it - but then decided it was a DCC question!