Making the most of your digital camera

revengeofthecat

Hopefully, this thread will be of use to someone and be a good place to share tips (or the mods will delete it and spare me any embarrassment!).

I'm going to start by admitting that I'm an amateur. Also I'm going to admit that I suck with point & shoot (P&S) cameras.

What I can do is take reasonable photos - not the best (by any stretch of the imagination) but good enough (sometimes) for me! One thing I have realised is that no matter what camera you have, it probably takes better photos than you. In other words, most of us (me included) do not use the full potential of our cameras.

I started photography with film cameras and quickly came to realise that often I was wasting ?? getting my photos developed! Simply, I was unaware of the components that I needed to take good photos. I'm going to quickly go through what I consider the important bits! Please excuse me if you already know all of this!

Composition

Lighting

Focus

Exposure

Composition and lighting belong to the "creative" side of photography - making your photo look good - and being as I'm still not there yet, I can't really talk much about that!