Scalescenes Brick Papers

michaelp

I'm new to using Scalescenes brick papers, I want to build some small brick walls but does the brick paper have to be glued to card first then onto plasticard or can the paper be glued onto plasticard directly, also which is the best glue to use for fixing?

Any help would be great.

Michael

For ALL my Scalescenes work I forget card, using plasticard instead. About .020/030" I think, its a while since I did any. Slight modifications are necessary during the build due to using one thickness, but easily overcome. And I don't use paper & glue, but print directly on to A4 size self-adhesive label sheets. These can be peeled back slightly & adjusted as necessary (as above) when wrapping through, in places such as window frames. I prefer working with plasticard, and the pre-printed labels give a great finish. More expensive than card I know, but easily fixed together with the usual MekPak etc.

Stewart

I build my shells from card either greyboard, whiteboard of artists mounting board then wrap with the brick paper, I use gluesticks to coat the texture paper before wrapping the shell, and PVA for parts that I can't get to with the gluestick.

I have tried printing the texture to A4 sticky labels but for some buildings I need the bit of slide that the glue stick gives, never tried building using plasticard and texture sheets so can't comment on that.

Stewart's suggestion to use A4 computer labels is the one I use. It is possible to manipulate Scalescenes papers in a photo editor so I can print them out exactly to size and shape for all my scratch building projects so no "sliding" of the cover paper is necessary. It doesn't matter whether you apply the paper to plastic or card; the latter is cheapest and can be built up to the desired thickness from Cornflake packets. Plastic is better if the layout is subject to damp conditions that one would find in a shed or garage.

• RMweb Gold