'Lagging' coupling rod

Katier

My J72 (3mm/ft - 3SMR kit) has been improving but I'm still having problems, mainly associated with it running ok in one direction but not the other.

The chassis (scratch built) is driven by the rear pair of drivers and the notchiness/stalling

I'd noticed seems to be caused by the lead wheels 'lagging' behind the rears

slightly.. so sometimes they cause the wheels to 'lock'.

The reason I hadn't picked it up is when testing by hand I was either pushing it

along the track ( so the wheels act as a connecting rod too removing the

notchiness) or using the middle wheels, where the effect seems to basically

disappear.

I guess I made a mistake opening up the connecting rods slightly too much, but

am thinking the easiest solution is to re-engineer the gearbox to drive the

middle axle.

thoughts?

Let me preface this by saying that I am not an expert on chassis issues, but it sounds like the wheel quartering may be slightly out on one pair, or even one driving wheel that needs to be rotated slightly on the axle to make the distance between the rod centres equidistant.

No doubt others will be able to brief you on the exact process to bring them in line, but I would look very closely at each wheel and the position of the spokes and the crankpin itself within the hole in the coupling rod. It can be done by trial and error once you can see where the problem is and which wheel is out of alignment or you can purchase a wheel quartering jig to assist you.

Are the rods flexing at all?

Nope but there is 'play' in the bearing which makes me thing that's what is the problem. I'm debating scrapping the existing ones as I think I over-did the holes and hand 'crafting' some fresh ones